Jesusa Rodríguez: The 4T's Enigma: Against Hate, Humor

The 4T's Enigma: Against Hate, Humor

“What would be the wonder, of such noble quality, which is blindness with the eyes and, without vision, understanding?”
-Sister Juana Inés de la Cruz

This lecture revolves around the resistance to change and the possibility of collectively facing a new reality of equality and justice in Mexico.


Jesusa Rodríguez (Mexico, 1955) is a scenic creator. From 1980 to 2018, she directed and performed in opera, theater, and political farces. Since December 2018, she has been a Senator in Mexico. Her greatest achievement was, and still is, to accumulate disgrace. She was awarded Best Actress at the Festival of the Americas in Montreal, 1989, and is a recipient of a 2000 Obie Award, with Liliana Felipe.

Arturo Chávez López (Presenter) is a Sociologist with a PhD in Sociology from the Faculty of Political and Social Sciences (FCPyS) of the UNAM. He holds a Master’s degree in Political Sociology from “Dr. José María Luis Mora” Institute and a BA in Sociology from the FCPyS. He is a full-time professor with the Center for Sociological Studies, and currently holds the position of Secretary General of the FCPyS of the UNAM. He previously served as Head of the Division of Professional Studies and Coordinator of the Center for Sociological Studies. His areas of research include political sociology and sociology of law; sociological theory and methodology in the social sciences.

Diana Taylor (Presenter) is University Professor and Professor of Performance Studies and Spanish at New York University. She is the award winning author of multiple books, among them: Theatre of Crisis (1991), Disappearing Acts (1997), The Archive and the Repertoire (2003), and Performance (2016). Her new book, ¡Presente! The Politics of Presence, is forthcoming with Duke University Press. Taylor is director of the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics which she helped found in 1998. In 2017, Taylor was President of the Modern Language Association and was recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2018 she was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Science.