Four Movements for Moving Voices Moving

This documentary footage of Four Movements for Moving Voices Moving (1974) examines the process of creating the work. While mostly documenting dance, the footage also includes commentary by the dancers, the choreographer Hellmut Gottschild, and the composer Paul Epstein about shared and aesthetic viewpoints. The piece Four Movements for Moving Voices Moving comprises dancers both moving and vocalizing to a score created by Epstein that was based on texts by noted writer Gertrude Stein.


Additional Info

  • Duration: 0:21:56
  • Date: 1974
  • Location: Philadelphia
  • Cast: Dancers: Karen Bamonte, Edrie Ferdun, Bruce Fertman, Hellmut Fricke-Gottschild, Martha Hansen, Nush Martynuk, Joan sloss, Christine Vilardo
  • Credits: Choreography: Hellmut Gottschild in collaborations with dancers Music: Paul Epstein Film: David Appleby